Video Ads On Facebook? No Can Do

During yesterday’s morning coffee, accompanied by a Mashable peruse, I learned about Facebook’s up and coming video ads.

cantgoforthat

Classic. Appropriate. Scroll down for the full video.

If the rumors are true, then next month we can expect to see a new Facebook — a playground for marketers— where our news feeds will be clogged with targeted video ads. We’re talking 15 seconds of Vine-like interruption, but on Facebook, which is already overpopulated with gratuitously shared nonsense. (And isn’t Vine. Because if you want a feed of looping videos, then you’d be on Vine.)

I simply read a headline on Mashable, “Can Facebook Put Video Ads in News Feed Without Angering Users?”

Hall & Oates immediately played in my head as I said aloud, I can’t go for that. No can do.”

Facebook — initially a place for making connections and keeping in touch — has inevitably transformed into stomping grounds for user-generated chaos. And that’s just the 411 on your personal contacts.

When we think about Facebook for marketing, it has evolved to be the Park Avenue of social media Monopoly. Give people a reason to opt-in to follow your brand, and when you find yourself landing on more and more news feeds, BINGO. You make the connections that you’re intelligently turning into loyal customers and evangelists.

My thoughts? I like hearing from my chosen pet supply retailer about the chew toys that are on sale for my pup. Or scanning a quick, witty remark from a favorite comedian (You da best, Ellen). But I have parameters for my content consumption. Just like you do. Let me scan a photo. I’ll read some copy. Don’t inundate me with video [against my will.]

Video is a great channel for providing valuable, fun, and enjoyable content. But we need to see the play button, be able to push it, and take it from there. The monetization component of Facebook marketing is inevitable. Of course things will get controversial, and we’ll test the waters with new developments to crack the code on Facebook engagement.

But it can’t be at the [experiential expense] of your followers. It’s not just about alienating people. It’s about disrupting a community of your peeps, your valuable database, and your hard-earned revenue. Posting automating targeted marketing videos without opt-in calls to action is taking on a new liability to the loyalty that caused someone to “Like” your brand in the first place. You lose that, and you’re losing it all. Do not pass go. Do not collect $200.

But I’m not trying to be a negative Nancy, here. On the contrary, it has to be noted just how amazing I do believe Facebook to be.

Because miracles happen on Facebook. They do! People have found lost loves. The ill have been healed from rallying crowds who have made donations for treatment. Cause-driven individuals and groups can, and do, come together on Facebook, to make cool things happen. Now I CAN go for THAT.

Facebook’s shortcomings, however, are unfortunately prominent. There are shady privacy changes, photos and words can be damaging, and somehow, the social sphere illuminates the most insecure, pathetic sides in people.

I deal with a lot of unwanted things on Facebook. But I stay connected because I enjoy keeping in touch with family and friends. I get to see babies in the family from different parts of the country growing up every day.

But then I have to hear from the loony peanut gallery every day, because there are only a select few really, of folks who have no personal borders, and constantly divulge nonsense. So I deal with these things. But Facebook, I can’t deal with ads on my supposedly a-la-carte, self service news feed.

“I’ll do almost anything that you want me to, but I can’t go for that. No can do.”

Please enjoy this video gem [you get to push play- or not]
Hall & Oates – “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)”
1981/RCA

Leave a Reply

